Fiscally Sponsored

The Mae Fellowship

The Mae Fellowship is the first in a portfolio of projects to establish a generational legacy in the honor of Lula Mary (Lula Mae) Leonard Young. The Fellowship annually identifies female and nonbinary writers across the country to provide financial support, a community, guest speakers, and access to world-class mentors in an effort to help complete their first books. Thus far, guests to the Mae Fellowship have included Tiffany Haddish, Sister Helen Prejean, Clint Smith, Viet Thanh Nguyen, Yiyun Li, Jonathan Lethem, Claudia Rankine, Sarah Perry, Bryan Washington, Tom Perrotta, Julia Phillips, Lisa Ko, Idra Novey, Jia Tolentino, Marilynne Robinson, Karen Russell, Michael Arceneaux, Emily St. John Mandel, Charles Baxter, E. J. Koh, Jami Attenberg, Cathy Park Hong, Brit Bennett, Tope Folarin, Lydia Millet, Tayari Jones, Claire Messud, Kiese Laymon, Aimee Bender, Nafissa Thompson-Spires, and Sigrid Nunez. The Fellowship began in 2020 and has so far supported 20 writers across the country.

Lafayette, Louisiana
Google map

Courtney Young

Note: Be sure this project name is selected in the "Donation to be designated" field at the bottom of the donation form.