Past Issues

 

 

 

Through the Ford Foundation’s Supporting Diverse Arts Spaces Initiative the following service networks are extending their support to Diverse Arts Spaces Organizations.  When these service networks announce opportunities open to SDAS organizations, they will be listed on the “CURRENT Opportunities” tab.

Alternate ROOTS — Atlanta, GA
Alternate ROOTS is an organization based in the Southern USA whose mission is to support the creation and presentation of original art, in all its forms, which is rooted in a particular community of place, tradition or spirit. Contact: Carlton Turner, carlton@alternateroots.org or Keryl McCord, keryl@alternateroots.org

ArtPlace AmericaChicago, IL
ArtPlace America works to accelerate creative placemaking by making grants and loans; by striking important partnerships with those who share our passion; with solid but imaginative research; and with communication and advocacy that we hope will influence others to engage in this work.
Contact: Lyz Crane, lyz@artplaceamerica.org

Artspace  (distance learning pilot) — Minneapolis, MN
Artspace is the nation’s leading non-profit developer for the arts. Artspace’s mission is to create, foster, and preserve affordable space for artists and arts organizations.
Contact: Kelley Lindquist, kelley.lindquist@artspace.org or Colin Hamilton, colin.hamilton@artspace.org

First Peoples Fund — Rapid City, SD
First Peoples Fund is dedicated to the preservation, advancement and well-being of American Indian and Alaska Native arts and culture, deeply rooted in Indigenous values and place-based practices. FPF is the only Native controlled national organization dedicated to supporting grassroots artists and communities by focusing on a Collective Spirit® in ways that align directly with tribal values.
Contact: Lori Pourier, lori@firstpeoplesfund.org or Miranne Walker, miranne@firstpeoplesfund.org

National Association of Latino Arts and Culture — San Antonio, TX
The National Association of Latino Arts and Culture (NALAC) is the nation’s leading nonprofit organization exclusively dedicated to the promotion, advancement, development, and cultivation of the Latino arts field. NALAC stimulates, facilitates intergenerational dialogues among disciplines, languages, and traditional and contemporary expressions.
Contact: Maria Lopez De Leon, maria@nalac.org

National Performance Network — New Orleans, LA
National Performance Network (NPN) is a network of presenting and exhibiting organizations, including artists, dedicated to the touring and creation of performing and visual arts.
Contact: Stanlyn Brevé, stanlyn@npnweb.org or MK Wegmann, mkw@npnweb.org

New York Foundation for the Arts — New York, NY
The New York Foundation for the Arts’ (NYFA) mission is to empower artists at critical stages in their creative lives.   We offer cash grants to artists in all disciplines, professional development training, venue opportunities, and fiscal sponsorship through www.artspire.org.  Our website, www.nyfa.org, provides a variety of resources including podcasts of information sessions, as well as Source, a database which currently lists 9,500 grant, residencies, calls for work, professional training and other opportunities both national and international in scope. We also collaborate with other organizations on entrepreneurial training programs and finding ways to help artists present their work to a wider audience.
Contact: Maria Villafranca, mariav@nyfa.org or Mark Rossier, mrossier@nyfa.org

NYU Hemispheric Institute (Hemi)New York, NY
The New York University Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics is a collaborative, multilingual, and interdisciplinary network of institutions, artists, scholars, and activists throughout the Americas. Our goal is to promote vibrant interactions and collaborations at the level of scholarship, art practice, and pedagogy among practitioners interested in the relationship between performance and politics in the hemisphere.
Contact: Marcial Godoy, mg167@nyu.edu or Marlène Ramirez-Cancio, marlene.cancio@nyu.edu

fordlogo